11/25/13

This week I go to the zoo with my shiny new year long zoo pass! I hope to get a decent photo of the star of the zoo, Hudson.

Work continues on the front entrance at the South parking lot. Chilly day today, -4ºC with a wind chill of, -14ºC.

Work continues on the front entrance at the South parking lot. Chilly day today, -4ºC with a wind chill of, -14ºC.

 

 

The zoo tram is closed for the season.

The zoo tram is closed for the season.

 

 

This human water hole is closed for the season.

This human water hole is closed for the season.

 

 

Large sign of the zoo map and whats coming soon to the zoo.

Large sign of the zoo map and whats coming soon to the zoo.

 

 

The Bison Snack Shack is closed for the season.

The Bison Snack Shack is closed for the season.

 

 

This Bald Eagle was keeping a close eye on me. He let out a shriek when I got up to the fence.

This Bald Eagle was keeping a close eye on me. He let out a shriek when I got up to the fence.

 

 

Work continues on the rock face for the Journey to Churchill exhibit.

Work continues on the rock face for the Journey to Churchill exhibit.

 

 

No Reindeer out today must be at the North Pole.

No Reindeer out today must be at the North Pole.

 

 

Hard to get a good photo of Hudson with three fences between you and him. Here he is playing with a bale of straw. Every time I go to see him he is playing.

Hard to get a good photo of Hudson with three fences between you and him. Here he is playing with a bale of straw. Every time I go to see him he is playing.

 

 

A Hudson poster on display at the zoo. I wonder if they sell these.

A Hudson poster on display at the zoo. I wonder if they sell these.

 

 

Construction continues on the tundra exhibit.  Another piece of the rock face skeleton gets lifted out of the snow.

Construction continues on the tundra exhibit.
Another piece of the rock face skeleton gets lifted out of the snow.

 

 

This young Pronghorn came running (quite fast) from across the field right at me.  Pronghorns are the second fastest land mammals in the world and can attain speeds of over 86 Kilometres per hour.

This young Pronghorn came running (quite fast) from across the field right at me.
Pronghorns are the second fastest land mammals in the world and can attain speeds of over 86 Kilometres per hour.

 

 

Toucan Ridge Cantina is closed for the season.

Toucan Ridge Cantina is closed for the season.

 

 

I don't remember seeing this CN rail car in the middle of the zoo before. It may be a new addition.

I don’t remember seeing this CN rail car in the middle of the zoo before. It may be a new addition.

 

 

More Hudson merchandise for sale in the Tundra Grill.

More Hudson merchandise for sale in the Tundra Grill.

 

 

More Hudson merchandise for sale in the Tundra Grill.

More Hudson merchandise for sale in the Tundra Grill.

 

 

Some Hudson merchandise for sale in the Tundra Grill. Only $2.00 for these buttons.

Some Hudson merchandise for sale in the Tundra Grill. Only $2.00 for these buttons.

 

 

The Tundra Grill is open for business. I stopped in for a hot chocolate.

The Tundra Grill is open for business. I stopped in for a hot chocolate.

 

 

This young Snow Leopard was excited to see me and when he saw me came running over to greet me.

This young Snow Leopard was excited to see me and when he saw me came running over to greet me.

 

 

Australian Walkabout is closed for the season.

Australian Walkabout is closed for the season.

 

 

That’s it for this week. Next week I plan to go to the park.

Leave a Reply

