12/16/13

This week it is much warmer so I head to the zoo to check out the big cats. 

Temp -7°C

Getting closer.

Getting closer.

I was hoping the new exhibit would be open. I guess it's not ready yet.

I was hoping the new exhibit would be open. I guess it’s not ready yet.

Only one of the tigers was out today and he's asleep.

Only one of the tigers was out today and he’s asleep.

At least the lions are up and alert.

At least the lions are up and alert.

The lions are going for a stroll.

The lions are going for a stroll.

He stopped to get his picture taken. Such a good boy!

He stopped to get his picture taken. Such a good boy!

I'm not sure I like that look in his eye.

I’m not sure I like that look in his eyes.

Inside the lion exhibit.

Inside the lion exhibit.

Also near the lions and tigers are these camels. I'm told they do quite well in Winnipeg winters....

Also near the lions and tigers are these camels. I’m told they do quite well in Winnipeg winters….

...and these Steller's Sea Eagles. These birds are huge.

…as well as these Steller’s Sea Eagles. These birds are huge.

I don't know what but something told me I should turn around and go back to see the tiger. That's when I got this photo!

I don’t know what but something told me I should turn around and go back to see the tiger. That’s when I got this photo!

The Snow Leopards where out enjoying the warmer weather.

The Snow Leopards where out enjoying the warmer weather.

Can you spot the mother and both of her cubs in this photo?

Can you spot the mother and both of her cubs in this photo?

Here is the construction. Looks like the tiger exhibit is a bit behind schedule.

Here is the construction. Looks like the tiger exhibit is a bit behind schedule.

No trip to the zoo is compleat without a visit to Hudson. But first a stop at Tundra Grill for some hot chocolate and a burger.

No trip to the zoo is complete without a visit to Hudson. But first a stop at Tundra Grill for some hot chocolate and a burger.

First thing you see when you enter the grill is Hudson's Jets jersey.

First thing you see when you enter the grill is Hudson’s Jets jersey.

The menu at the Tundra Grill.

The menu at the Tundra Grill.

A few photos of the construction from inside of the Tundra Grill.

A few photos of the construction from inside Tundra Grill.

This will be one of the views of the Future "Journey to Churchill" from inside the Grill.

This will be one of the views of the future “Journey to Churchill” from inside  the Grill.

Back on the trail to see Hudson. It sure is nice of this Bob Cat to clear the way for me...especially on my "big cat" day.

Back on the trail to see Hudson. It sure is nice of this bobcat to clear the way for me…especially on my “big cat” day.

I thought these berries looked nice with the snowy backdrop.

I thought these berries looked nice with the snowy backdrop.

I caught this red squirrel "red" handed.

I caught this red squirrel “red” handed.

He was stealing bits of one nest...

He was stealing bits of one nest…

...then flying back to his nest...

…then flying back to his nest…

...as quickly as he could, to make his nest better.

…as quickly as he could, to make his nest better.

The little bugger.

The little bugger.

Hudson was in fine form as always.

Hudson was in fine form as always.

Playing with a piece of yesterday's Christmas present.

Playing with a piece of yesterday’s Christmas present.

He is just like an oversized dog.

He is just like an oversized dog.

He is checking out what the construction workers are up to.

He is checking out what the construction workers are up to.

Looks like Storm is starting to feel more at home and is checking things out.

Looks like Storm is starting to feel more at home and is checking things out.

I'm not sure where he got this from but while I was visiting Storm, Hudson found this barrel from somewhere to play with.

I’m not sure where he got this from but while I was visiting Storm, Hudson found this barrel from somewhere to play with.

I never noticed this smaller Inukshuk before. I think it's new.

I never noticed this smaller Inukshuk before. I think it’s new.

That’s  all for this week! Next week I’m planing to go to the park and take some photos of the sleigh rides. 

2 thoughts on “12/16/13

    • I just love that photo! I don’t think I will ever get a nicer tiger picture again. The only thing I don’t like about is the reflection in the glass that separates you from the tigers.

Leave a Reply

