A Tropical Paradise In A Cold City-01/01/14

Happy New Year and yes the zoo is open today. In fact they are open 364 days a year!  2014 is going to bring some big changes at our zoo. 

This week I head out to Tucan Ridge to escape the frigid cold. 

Temp -35°C, Feels like -39°C.

The snowy owls don't seem to mind the cold. I can't wait to see them in their new habit later this year.

The snowy owls don’t seem to mind the cold. I can’t wait to see them in their new habit later this year.

 

 

I'll give you one guess if the tropical animals were inside or outside today.

I’ll give you one guess if the tropical animals were inside or outside today.

 

 

At least it's a short walk from the front gate to Tucan Ridge.

At least it’s a short walk from the front gate to Tucan Ridge.

 

 

It's not foggy in here; I just have to wait for the humidity that builds on my lens and glasses to go away.  It always freaks me out a little when I can't see but hear jungle noises all around me.

It’s not foggy in here; I just have to wait for the humidity that builds on my lens and glasses to go away.
It always freaks me out a little when I can’t see but hear jungle noises all around me.

 

 

That's better.

That’s better.

 

 

I love seeing the little splashes of colour amongst all the green.

I love seeing the little splashes of colour amongst all the green.

 

 

This will look so neat when it opens.

This will look so neat when it opens.

 

 

The Capybara was out as always. Capybara are known as the largest rodent in the world and can grow up to 65 kgs/105 lbs. They are related to the guinea pig.

The Capybara was out as always.
Capybara are known as the largest rodent in the world and can grow up to 65 kgs/105 lbs. They are related to the guinea pig.

 

 

These large birds like to just wander around the tropical house but I never had them come this close to me before.

These large birds like to just wander around the tropical house but I never had them come this close to me before.

 

 

Birds of a feather....

Birds of a feather….

 

 

The alligators were just soaking it all in.

The alligators were just soaking it all in.

 

 

"Don't mind me I'm just a log."

“Don’t mind me I’m just a log.”

 

 

The prehensile porcupines are nocturnal but still eat during the day.

The prehensile porcupines are nocturnal but still eat during the day.

 

 

The cotton head monkeys are still here on loan from Calgary because of their zoo flooding last spring.

The cotton head monkeys are still here on loan from Calgary because of their zoo flooding last spring.

 

 

The kinkajou made a brief appearance from his home to grab a snack.

The kinkajou made a brief appearance from his home to grab a snack.

 

 

A bright little bird stopped to pose for a photo.

A bright little bird stopped to pose for a photo.

 

 

Another bright little bird stopped to pose for a photo.

Another bright little bird stopped to pose for a photo.

 

 

The highlight of the day was watching the ocelot hunt for his breakfast.

The highlight of the day was watching the ocelot hunt for his breakfast.

 

 

He found another one! All together there were about a dozen dead chicks hidden in his habitat.

He found another one!
All together there were about a dozen dead chicks hidden in his habitat.

 

 

By sniffing the air he found them all very quickly...

By sniffing the air he found them all very quickly…

 

 

...but this one last chick seemed to cause him some problems.

…but this one last chick seemed to cause him some problems.

 

 

He looked everywhere for it.

He looked everywhere for it.

 

 

After awhile he took a break...

After awhile he took a break…

 

 

...and took a bath.

…and had a bath.

 

That’s it for this week, until next week.

 

Leave a Reply

