Under the sea!

Another cold day here in Winterpeg so I’m heading indoors at the park and decided to check out the new “Under the Sea” display at the Conservatory. Then a quick stop at the Tropical House to see how things are growing. 

Temp -20°C feels like -30°C.

A look of the walkway from the conservatory to the parking lot.

A look of the walkway from the conservatory to the parking lot.

Even with all the snow it looks like this phone both is still being used judging by the tracks.

Even with all the snow it looks like this phone both is still being used judging by the footprints in the snow.

A handy poster board just outside of the entrance of the conservatory telling you what's new in the park and zoo. The huge pile of snow in front if it prevents anyone to get close enough to the sign to actually read it.

A handy poster board just outside of the entrance of the conservatory telling you what’s new in the park and zoo. The huge pile of snow in front of it prevents anyone from getting close enough to actually read it.

A couple of old photos hanging in the lobby that I don't recall seeing before.

A couple of old photos hanging in the lobby that I don’t recall seeing before.

There where no captions but they look to me like opening day of the conservatory.

There where no captions but they look to me like opening day of the conservatory.

Some new complementary  magazines of what's going on in Winnipeg are available.

Some new complementary magazines of what’s going on in Winnipeg are available.

Some new art on the wall, or at least I don't recall seeing this before.

Some new art on the wall, or at least I don’t recall seeing this before. That polar bear sure looks cold.

On to the main event the "Under the Sea" exhibit.

On to the main event the “Under the Sea” exhibit.

From the other side.

From the other side.

Some of the smaller details.

Some of the smaller details.

This really has an under the sea feel to it.

This really has an under the sea feel to it.

These little fish are everywhere.

These little fish are everywhere.

Some shells on a corner stone.

Some shells on a corner stone.

Another random photo.

Another random photo.

While taking these pictures I couldn't help but think they should pipe in the Under the Sea song from Disney's "A Little Mermaid".

While taking these pictures I couldn’t help but think they should pipe in the Under the Sea song from Disney’s “A Little Mermaid”.

It sure was fun taking such colorful pictures.

It sure was fun taking such colorful pictures.

I wonder how much sand they brought in for this.

I wonder how much sand they brought in for this.

I see you hiding behind that milk tree.

I see you hiding behind that milk tree.

One of the table displays on the outside wall.

One of the table displays on the outside wall.

Another one.

Another one.

In the tropical house the female turtle was relaxing on her rock...

In the tropical house the female turtle was relaxing on her rock…

..until she saw me..

..until she saw me..

Then she swam right on over to say "hi".

Then she swam right on over to say “hi”.

Can you guess the name of this tree?

Can you guess the name of this tree?

Did you get it right?

Did you get it right?

Some of my favorite things in the tropical house are the statues.

Some of my favorite things in the tropical house are the statues.

This one greats you when you first walk in and is 4-5 feet high.

This one greets you when you first walk in and is 4-5 feet high.

Another one.

Another one.

This archway fits right in.

This archway fits right in.

This one is about two feet tall and is well hidden. See if you can find it on your next visit.

This one is about two feet tall and is well hidden. See if you can find it on your next visit.

The coffee beans were scarce and hard to find on this trip.

The coffee beans were scarce and hard to find on this trip.

It does not look like the papayas grew much since my last visit.

It does not look like the papayas grew much since my last visit.

This is a cool leaf. I'm guessing that it uses the water that it collects later.

This is a cool leaf. I’m guessing that it uses the water that it collects later.

The bridge over the goldfish pond.

The bridge over the goldfish pond.

Some of the fish in the pond.

Some of the fish in the pond.

Back in the lobby I liked how the sun was hitting this plant.

Back in the lobby I liked how the sun was hitting this plant.

That’s all for this week.  A few more photos than I usually post but I’m not sure if I will be posting for the next 3-4 weeks as I plan on taking some time off for the Olympics.

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Under the sea!

  1. 3 – 4 weeks? I don’t think I can last that long, Stan! Can you try and get one visit in, as it’s good for you to get back to nature, at least once a month. Great Photos, once again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

