Don’t feed the ducks!

Today my daughter and I head out to the park to have lunch and feed the ducks.

Temp 10°C with a cool breeze. 

The first thing we noticed was that there were an increase in mothers pushing strollers.

The first thing we noticed was that there was an increase in mothers pushing strollers.

By the pavilion.

By the pavilion.

 

By the shelter...

By the shelter…

 

 

...and blocking sidewalks.

…and blocking sidewalks.

 

They would walk for a while then stop and do some exercises.  It was the annual Mother's Day stroller walk.

They would walk for a while then stop and do some exercises.
It was the annual Mother’s Day stroller walk.

 

 

It doesn't look like anyone will be using toboggan hill any time soon. :)

It doesn’t look like anyone will be using toboggan hill any time soon. 🙂

 

Here is a reason to celebrate.  Park Treats is open for the season. I'll have to try it out soon but today I'm here to try out the new burger that is on the menu at the Park Cafe.

Here is a reason to celebrate.
Park Treats is open for the season. I’ll have to try it out soon but today I’m here to try out the new burger that is on the menu at the Park Cafe.

 

My daughter had the chocolate chip pancakes.  She said they were good but not great.

My daughter had the chocolate chip pancakes.
She said they were good but not great.

 

I had the new Park Burger on a pretzel bun with a side order on onion rings.  The burger was extremely tasty and the onion rings were among the best I've ever had!

I had the new Park Burger on a pretzel bun with a side order of onion rings.
The burger was extremely tasty and the onion rings were among the best I’ve ever had!

 

After lunch we headed out to feed the ducks. Ummm, where are they?

After lunch we headed out to feed the ducks. Ummm, where are they?

 

On the other side of the pond we can see some Canada geese. Another group is also out today and they brought their cool boats with them.

On the other side of the pond we can see some Canada geese.
Another group is also out today and they brought their cool boats with them.

 

This photo will give you a better idea on thee size of these boats.

This photo will give you a better idea of the size of these boats.

 

These things were just too cool.

These things were just too cool.

 

A-HA we found some geese to feed.

Ah-ha!  We found some geese to feed.

 

We would toss some bird seed in and they would dive for it.

We would toss some bird seed in and they would dive for it.

 

Soon they were coming closer...

Soon they were coming closer…

 

...and closer.

…and closer.

 

Yep, they sure do like bird seed.

Yep, they sure do like bird seed.

 

We were having a great time until a friendly volunteer told us, "Don't feed the ducks!"

We were having a great time until a friendly volunteer told us, “Don’t feed the ducks!”

 

We did not see any signs telling us not to feed the ducks so we went to look for one then we saw this. They had one sign on one side of the pond. The funny thing is I remember taking a picture if this sign earlier in the year. Oh well lesson learned.

We did not see any signs telling us not to feed the ducks so we went to look for one then we saw this.
They had one sign on one side of the pond. The funny thing is I remember taking a picture if this sign earlier in the year.
Oh well lesson learned.

 

This past winter I also posted a sign advertising the memory stones. This is what they look like.

This past winter I also posted a sign advertising the memory stones. This is what they look like.

 

Next stop was the flower garden.

Next stop was the flower garden.

 

It may not look like much now, but in a month or so this will be a very beautiful place.

It may not look like much now, but in a month or so this will be a very beautiful place.

 

Well I'm here I took a photo of this tree that I plan to keep track of. It's starting to get some buds on it.

While here I took a photo of this tree that I plan to keep track of. It’s starting to get some buds on it.

 

On the way out of the park I notice that the Children's Garden is now open.  I'll have to save this for a future posting.

On the way out of the park I noticed that the Children’s Garden is now open.
I’ll have to save this for a future posting.

 

Outside of the conservatory the 'What's New!' Sign has been updated.

Outside of the conservatory the ‘What’s New!’ sign has been updated.

 

Looks like the Australian Walkabout will be opening soon.

Looks like the Australian Walkabout will be opening soon.

 

As well as some new things for me to check out at the pavilion. Think I'll save that for a rainy day.

As well as some new things for me to check out at the pavilion. I think I’ll save that for a rainy day.

 

Looks like this banana tree has more bananas on it then my last visit.

Looks like this banana tree has more bananas on it than it did on my last visit.

 

 

The tulips are all gone and have been replaced with these flowers.

The tulips are all gone and have been replaced with these flowers.

 

That’s it for this week. Next week I hope to be able to check out the Australian Walkabout.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

