Australian Walkabout

Today I visit the zoo to check out the newly reopened Australian Walkabout. I also take a quick walk to see if anything else is new.  Temp 8°C

More new siding going up on the new entrance.

More new siding going up on the new entrance.

Another look at how the work is coming along on the new entrance.

Another look at how the work is coming along on the new entrance.

I think the hanging lights are new since my last visit.

I think the hanging lights are new since my last visit.

The walkabout is very close to the old/currant entrance. In fact it's the first thing you past if you stay to the left.

The walkabout is very close to the old/currant entrance. In fact it’s the first thing you pass if you stay to the left.

The rules for the walkabout.

The rules for the walkabout. Some of them are quite funny. Guess I won’t get to ride in a kangaroo pouch after all.

Stroller parking.

Stroller parking.

The entrance. They use a double door entrance so none of the animals get out. It's odd because you are not sure if you are aloud in or not with the door being closed.  Often people would wait thinking they have to wait their turn.

The entrance. They use a double door entrance so none of the animals get out. It’s odd because you are not sure if you are aloud in or not with the door being closed.
Often people would wait thinking they have to wait their turn.

The emu area. They are penned in now but as they get used to people again they will be able to walk around the walkabout freely.  On my way out of the zoo I saw that one of them was let out of the pen.

The emu area. They are penned in now but as they get used to people again they will be able to walk around the walkabout freely.
On my way out of the zoo I saw that one of them was let out of the pen.

A closer look at one of these strange birds.

A closer look at one of these strange birds.

I think someone could use a comb.

I think someone could use a comb.

Here are the stars of the walkabout.

Here are the stars of the walkabout.

They are free to go wherever they like, while the people have to stay on the path.

They are free to go wherever they like, while the people have to stay on the path.

It is unbelievable how much ground the can cover in just a few hops.

It is unbelievable how much ground they can cover in just a few hops.

It is cool being in the same inclosure with them but don't expect them to come up to you.

It is cool being in the same enclosure with them but don’t expect them to come up to you.

I was told that three if the kangaroos have joeys in their pouches.  I'll have to come back in a few weeks to get some photos of the young ones.

I was told that three of the kangaroos have joeys in their pouches.
I’ll have to come back in a few weeks to get some photos of the young ones.

Also in the exhibit are these little guys. They attract more attention from the children then the kangaroos do.

Also in the exhibit are these little guys.
They attract more attention from the children than the kangaroos do.

This ground hog snuck up to the kangaroo feeding area and got himself a piece of carrot.

This groundhog snuck up to the kangaroo feeding area and got himself a piece of carrot.

Oh oh, this looks like trouble.

Uh oh, this looks like trouble.

And the battle begins.

And the battle begins.

Run away.

Run away.

The sweet taste of victory!

The sweet taste of victory!

 

The crowds are starting to pick up with the warmer weather.

The crowds are starting to pick up with the warmer weather.

Outside of the walkabout the peacocks are now out and walking around.

Outside of the walkabout the peacocks are now out and walking around.

This female peacock is working on her nest.

This female peacock is working on her nest.

Another male strutting his stuff.

Another male strutting his stuff.

I started a conversation with these three young volunteers and they told me that this year the zoo has over 30 peacocks.

I started a conversation with these three young volunteers and they told me that this year the zoo has over 30 peacocks.

A few weeks ago I posted a photo of a Canada goose and her freshly hatched egg as worked to build her nest. Turns out she has four eggs.

A few weeks ago I posted a photo of a Canada goose and her freshly laid egg as she worked to build her nest. Turns out she has four eggs and her nest is now complete. 

This goose picked an unusual place to hang out. You don't see geese on buildings all the often.

This goose picked an unusual place to hang out. You don’t see geese on buildings all that often.

Tucan Ridge Cantina is now open for the season.

Tucan Ridge Cantina is now open for the season.

The menu for the Cantina.  I think I'll have to try some of these...you know...for research.

The menu for the Cantina.
I think I’ll have to try some of these…you know…for research.

The rest if the menu.

The rest of the menu.

The zoo also has a second kangaroo exhibit. This one holds the larger red kangaroos and you can not enter it.

The zoo also has a second kangaroo exhibit. This one holds the larger red kangaroos and you cannot enter it.

These two started playing.  Check out how much mussel they have in their tails.

These two started playing.
Check out how much muscle they have in their tails.

That is quit the left hook.

That is quite the left hook.

I think I see why they don't want the guest in with the big boys.

I think I see why they don’t want the guest in with these big boys.

A few weeks ago I posted a photo of the zoo taking down the snow leopard enclosure.  Turns out they built one a bit bigger and much higher.

A few weeks ago I posted a photo of the zoo taking down the snow leopard enclosure.
Turns out they built one a bit bigger and much higher.

The middle snow leopard enclosure now has a waterfall.

The middle snow leopard enclosure now has a waterfall.

A closer look at the waterfall.

A closer look at the waterfall.

Mom and one of her her cubs relaxing.

Mom and one of her her cubs relaxing.

On my way back to the exit I noticed the female peacock was out of her nest.

On my way back to the exit I noticed the female peacock was out of her nest.

After leaving the zoo I noticed that they had all three entrances open today.

After leaving the zoo I noticed that all three entrances were open today.

That’s it for this week. Tomorrow is the lions birthday depending how my day works out I may pop in for their party. Until next Time…

Leave a Reply

