Cricket in the park!

This week I head out to the park to meet up with a friend of mine that’s been playing Cricket at the park for years.

Temp 26°C

 

First thing I noticed after parking my car are these gorgeous trees.

First thing I noticed after parking my car are these gorgeous trees.

Also happening at the park today is a walk for the brain tumor foundation.

Also happening at the park today is a walk for the brain tumor foundation.

A few of the signs they had up.

A few of the signs they had up.

 

They had a rather large turnout...

They had a rather large turnout…

 

...and a live band!  They were very good.

…and a live band!
They were very good.

 

I didn't come to the park today to listen to music. I came to find my friend Avninder and watch him play cricket. The park is very busy today hope I can find him.  There he is, I found him right away.

I didn’t come to the park today to listen to music. I came to find my friend Avninder and watch him play cricket.   The park is very busy today so I  hope I can find him.
There he is, I found him right away.

 

Turns out he is the pitcher or as I later found out bowler.

Turns out he is the pitcher or as I later found out the bowler.

 

A rather good one at that.

A rather good one at that.

 

It's a hit!

It’s a hit!

 

The fun part about going to the park is the new stuff you see.  Like couples riding two person bikes.

The fun part about going to the park is the new stuff you see.
Like couples riding two person bikes.

 

The thing about me and cricket is I don't really know what is going on. I need a little break.

The thing about me and cricket is I don’t really know what is going on. I think I need a little break.

 

What better break could I have then a visit to Park Treats.  What should I have?

What better break could I have than a visit to Park Treats.
What should I have?

 

A frozen yogurt twist cone of course.

A frozen yogurt twist cone of course.

 

On the path between the cricket area and Park Treats you pass on of Winnipeg's most famous statues. Winnie the Bear.

On the path between the cricket area and Park Treats you pass one of Winnipeg’s most famous statues, Winnie the Bear.

 

As well as this teaser poster, but I'll save this for another trip. I have to get back to the cricket match.

As well as this teaser poster, but I’ll save this for another trip.
I have to get back to the cricket match.

 

Team AICC.  They were a great bunch of guys that made me feel welcome. They even explained the rules of the game to me.  Cricket is much more enjoyable when you know the rules.

Team AICC.
In between innings I was able to meet the team and take their photo. They were a great bunch of guys that made me feel welcome.   It was a pleasure to meet them all. They even took the time to explain the rules of the game to me.
Cricket is much more enjoyable when you know the rules.

 

Batter up! I think that's the right term.

Batter up! I think that’s the right term.

 

Sitting on the bench and time for me to go.

Sitting on the bench and time for me to go.

All in all it was a fun, busy day to visit the park. The weather was perfect and there was lots going on.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

