My last time going to the old zoo.

 

This is most likely the last time I’ll be able visit the zoo before the Grand re-opening so guess where I’m going.    Temp 20°C

 

 

This week I decided to park my car at the park and take the FREE Double Decker bus to the zoo.

This week I decided to park my car at the park and take the FREE Double Decker bus to the zoo.

 

 

Umm...this is not what I was expecting. I ask the driver what's up with the bus and he explained to me that when they have volunteers they use the double decker, when they don't they use this one.

Umm…this is not what I was expecting. I asked the driver what’s up with the bus and he explained to me that when they have volunteers they use the double decker, and when they don’t they use this one.

 

 

After a short trip we arrive at the zoo.

After a short trip we arrive at the zoo.

 

 

The new zoo entrance is looking great!

The new zoo entrance is looking great!

 

 

The old/current entrance not so much.

The old/current entrance not so much.

 

 

The other side of the new entrance has the sidewalk down already and most of the siding is up.

The other side of the new entrance has the sidewalk down already and most of the siding is up.

 

 

The first animal I come across is this deer that prefers leaves over grass.

The first animal I came across is this deer that prefers leaves over grass.

 

 

I've been going to the zoo for a while now and always stop to see the badgers. I had no idea until today that the zoo has two of them.

I’ve been going to the zoo for a while now and always stop to see the badgers. I had no idea until today that the zoo has two of them.

 

 

They were very determined that today would be the day they dig themselves out.

They were very determined that today would be the day they dig themselves out.

 

 

I was hoping to get some final photos of the polar bears in their habitat before the big move but the area was closed off because of the construction.

I was hoping to get some final photos of the polar bears in their habitat before the big move but the area was closed off because of the construction.

 

 

Speaking of construction from what I see they still have a lot of work to do with less then a month to go.

Speaking of construction from what I see they still have a lot of work to do with less than a month to go.

 

 

In other areas the finishing touches are being applied.

In other areas the finishing touches are being applied.

 

 

Most of the big tarps are down except for this area where I have not seen tarps before.

Most of the big tarps are down except for this area where I have not seen tarps before.

 

 

Yesterday it rained for most of the day and we received over 70mm of the wet stuff. I can just see the mosquitos multiplying in this standing water.

Yesterday it rained for most of the day and we received over 70mm of the wet stuff. I can just see the mosquitos multiplying in this standing water.

 

 

These geese and their young ones don't seem to mind the standing water at all.

These geese and their young ones don’t seem to mind the standing water at all.

 

 

The butterfly houses are now up.

The butterfly houses are now up.

 

 

No butterflies yet but their will be soon.

No butterflies yet but there soon will be.

 

 

The tram is now in full swing and it's time for lunch.

The tram is now in full swing and it’s time for lunch.

 

 

Aboard the tram the driver points out over the speaker, interesting things to look for.

Aboard the tram the driver points out over the speaker, interesting things to look for.

 

 

Toucan Ridge Cantina is getting a face lift.

Toucan Ridge Cantina is getting a face lift.

 

 

For lunch I try the Hawaiian Hot Dog. It was tasty but very messy and the bun was bit on the stale side.

For lunch I try the Hawaiian Hot Dog. It was tasty but very messy and the bun was bit on the stale side.

 

 

While I was waiting for the bus to pick me up I noticed this sign reminding everyone driving by about the zoo closure and Grand re-opening.

While I was waiting for the bus to pick me up I noticed this sign reminding everyone driving by about the zoo closure and Grand re-opening.

 

 

In the next few weeks there will be some exciting things coming to the Assiniboine Park area. That’s it for this week. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

