Birds, Butterflies and Bears…oh my!

 

 

This week I go to the zoo to check out the butterfly exhibit that also opened on July 3rd and while I’m here I might as well stop by the Journey to Churchill exhibit and see if I can get some photos I was not able to last week.

Turns out my visit was all about birds, butterflies and bears. As well as a few other animals that I could just not resist taking photos of.

First up some birds…

First thing I notice is that the Wild Turkeys are not moved into the old Snowy Owl exhibit.

First thing I notice is that the Wild Turkeys are now moved into the old Snowy Owl exhibit.

 

Gobble, gobble, gobble

Gobble, gobble, gobble

 

Back to the birds. Saddle-Billed Stork.

Saddle-Billed Stork.

 

Vulture.

Vulture.

 

Southern Ground Hornbill.

Southern Ground Hornbill.

 

Marabou Stork.  Looks like the poor thing has a cracked bill. I will ask about it when I get a chance.

Marabou Stork.
Looks like the poor thing has a cracked bill. I will ask about it when I get a chance.

 

Over at Tucan Ridge they have a number of birds as well.

Over at Tucan Ridge they have a number of birds as well.

 

Scarlet Ibis.

Scarlet Ibis.

 

Such beautiful colours.

Such beautiful colours.

 

And of course the Tucan Ridge has a Chestnut-Mandibled Toucan.

And of course the Toucan Ridge has a Chestnut-Mandibled Toucan.

 

Near the beginning of the Journey to Churchill exhibit was a large flock of Canada Geese.

Near the beginning of the Journey to Churchill exhibit was a large flock of Canada Geese.

 

Here you can see a wide range of ages of the geese from the very young, to some just getting their new feathers all the way up to the adults.

Here you can see a wide range of ages of the geese from the very young, to some just getting their new feathers all the way up to the adults.

 

A mother and her babies.

A mother and her babies.

 

DUDE. Just what type of plants did they put in with the Snowy Owls?

DUUUDE.
(Just what type of plants did they put in with the Snowy Owls?)

 

Toucan Ridge Cantina has a new paint job. Gone is the bright green and yellow.

Toucan Ridge Cantina has a new paint job. Gone is the bright green and yellow.

 

Approaching the Butterfly exhibit.

Approaching the Butterfly exhibit.

 

The front entrance.

The front entrance.

 

Painted Lady, Click on the photo to read it better.

Painted Lady,
Click on the photo to read it better.

 

A bee greeted me at the entrance.

A bee greeted me at the entrance.

 

There are so many beautiful butterflies in here that I could just not stop taking photos.

There are so many beautiful butterflies in here that I could just not stop taking photos.

DSC_2810

 

They put out cut fruit for the butterflies to eat.

They put out cut fruit for the butterflies to eat.

 

Don't mind me just flying by.

Don’t mind me just flying by.

 

Coming in for a landing.

Coming in for a landing.

 

 

Normal eyes...

Normal eyes…

 

...angry eyes.

…angry eyes.

 

Wings closed...

Wings closed…

 

...wings open. These blue ones are very hard to get a photo of with their wings open.

…wings open.
These blue ones are very hard to get a photo of with their wings open.

 

Here is a close up of one of the blue ones with the wings closed.

Here is a close up of one of the blue ones with the wings closed.

 

Another with the wings open.

Another with the wings open.

 

These ones are like humming bids and don't stop flapping their wings.

These ones are like humming bids and don’t stop flapping their wings.

DSC_2911

 

 

 

 

I love the contrasting colours of the butterfly and the flower.

I love the contrasting colours of the butterfly and the flower.

 

Also in the Butterfly exhibit is a small gift shop.

Also in the Butterfly exhibit is a small gift shop.

 

It's a small shop but well stocked.

It’s a small shop but well stocked.

 

Inside the shop you can view cocoons that have hatched and have yet to hatch.

Inside the shop you can view cocoons that have hatched and have yet to hatch.

 

My favourite are these butterfly dishes that you can buy and have your own butterfly garden at home.

My favourite are these butterfly dishes that you can buy and have your own butterfly garden at home.

 

Here is a look at a butterfly dish in action.

Here is a look at a butterfly dish in action.

 

These little guys make a high pitched cheep when they call out.

These little guys make a high pitched cheep when they call out.

 

This Arctic Fox was having a good time.

This Arctic Fox was having a good time.

 

He is a lot smaller then he looks in this photo.

He is a lot smaller than he looks in this photo.

I sure do like seeing the Dragonflies in Winnipeg. Enough with the resting now get back to work eating mosquitos.

I sure do like seeing the Dragonflies in Winnipeg.
Enough with the resting now get back to work eating mosquitos you!

 

Yes, I finally got to see the Grey Wolves! Well, at least the sleepy head of one and the ear of another.

Yes, I finally got to see the Grey Wolves!
Well, at least the sleepy head of one and the ear of another.

 

After about a 20 minute wait one of them lifted their head and checked me out.

After about a 20 minute wait one of them lifted their head and checked me out.

 

Another 20 minutes later I got the photo I wanted.

Another 20 minutes later I got the photo I wanted.

 

This sign explains why there are wolves in the Polar Bear exhibit.

This sign explains why there are wolves in the Polar Bear exhibit.

 

My first look at one of the young female Polar Bears in the new exhibit. I think this is Aurora.

My first look at one of the young female Polar Bears in the new exhibit.
I think this is Aurora.

 

This truly is a great exhibit they made for these bears.

This truly is a great exhibit they made for these bears.

 

Guess where she is going.

Guess where she is going.

 

Her sister is minding her own business playing with a ball.

Her sister is minding her own business playing with a ball.

 

Here comes trouble.

Here comes trouble.

 

Let the battle begin.

Let the battle begin.

 

I love how she stands on the glass to get more leverage

I love how she stands on the glass to get more leverage

 

The race is on!

The race is on!

 

Guess who won.

Guess who won.

 

Smile for the camera.

Smile for the camera.

 

I find peoples reaction to the bears as exciting as I do the bears themselves. Everyone has a smile on their faces when they see the bears.

I find peoples’ reaction to the bears as exciting as I do the bears themselves.
Everyone has a smile on their face when they see the bears.

 

That’s all the time I have for today and I’m guessing you as well. Feel free to leave me any questions and comments in the comments column below.

Until next time… 

 

Leave a Reply

